CUPE Local 1356 Blog

Canadian Union of Public Employees Local 1356. We have three Collective Agreements as Local 1356, 1356-01, and 1356-02. The membership is comprised of the full-time and part-time workers of York University the Local website is at This Blog will include Local information and information garnered from sources other Universities, Colleges, Post Secondary/Tertiary Education and news sources supplying information.

Tuesday, December 19, 2006

Nominations for Bora Laskin Award 2007

The University of Toronto, Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources, is inviting nominations for its annual Bora Laskin Award for Outstanding Contribution to Labour Law. The Award has been established by the University of Toronto to honour those who have made an outstanding contribution to Canadian labour law.

The award is named after the late Chief Justice Bora Laskin (1912-1984), who before joining the Supreme Court of Canada, was pre-eminent as a labour law scholar and labour arbitrator.
The recipients of the Bora Laskin Award include
Professor Harry Arthurs of Osgoode Hall Law School (2003),
Professor Pierre Verge of Laval University, Quebec (2004),
Professor Paul C. Weiler,
Henry J. Friendly Professor of Law at Harvard University (2005),
Roy Heenan, founding partner of Heenan Blaike LLP (2006) and
Mel Myers, founding partner of Myers Weinberg LLP (2006).

Nominees will be considered from all fields relating to labour law, including, for example, academia, private practice, courts, tribunals and arbitration. The Awards Committee will consider nominations received on or before January 19th.

This year's award recipient will be announced at a dinner, on the evening of Thursday, May 10, to be held in conjunction with the Lancaster House Conference on Canadian Labour Board Law, at the Sutton Place Hotel in Toronto on May 10-11, 2007.
To submit a nomination, please fill out the following online form:

The 2007 Awards Committee is comprised of:

  • Frank Reid, Director, Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources, University of Toronto
  • Madam Justice Louise Otis, Quebec Court of Appeal
  • Kenneth Swan, President, Ontario Labour-Management Arbitrators'
  • Madam Justice Sheila Greckol, Alberta Court of Queen's Bench
  • Professor Brian Langille, University of Toronto Faculty of Law
  • Mr. Justice Warren Winkler, Ontario Superior Court of Justice
  • Thomas Kuttner, Vice-Chair, New Brunswick Labour and Employment Board
  • Stan Lanyon, Arbitrator/Mediator, B.C.

Lancaster House Publishing


Post a Comment

<< Home